Report of the Ad Hoc Committee on Senate Non-Faculty Membership

Connie Wood, Chair Eli Edwards Davy Jones David Pienkowski Greg Wasilkowski

The Ad Hoc Committee on Senate Non-Faculty Membership met on Friday April 5, 2013 and made the following recommendations which are codified in the attached documents.

In light of the recent endorsement by the SGA of the creation of a Faculty Senate in which the voting membership is the elected faculty representatives with other possible advisory members, including students and administrators, our discussion focused on the role of students and administrators. While we value the advisory role of students and administrators, we concurred with the SGA resolution that we, in fact, should have a governing/legislative body in which voting is restricted to faculty in non-administrative roles.

Therefore, the committee recommends that:

- 1.) The name of the University Senate be changed to 'University Faculty Senate'.
- 2.) The status of student senators and elected emeriti faculty be changed to non-voting.
- 3.) The administrators and Deans who currently are ex officio voting member be moved to ex officio non-voting status.
- 4.) The student members of the Senate Council be moved to non-voting status.
- 5.) That in a spirit of increasing University communication among participants in shared governance, the charge to the University Assembly be expanded to include a function for the President to periodically meet in joint session with the executive bodies of the University Faculty Senate, Student Senate, and Staff Senate.